Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 4, 2022 16:24 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Oct 4, 2022 16:24 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 30 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 115 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 229 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 511 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, there were 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 30 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 115 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 229 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 511 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 4.9 earthquake occurred in Antofagasta, Chile, 3 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.8 | 41 km SW of Andalgala, Catamarca, Argentina -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.9 | 24 km NE of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours147 quakes | 115 quakes M3+ | 30 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Strongest quake: Mag. 5.2 on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 12:13 am (GMT -5) – 31 km NW of Santiago de Cali, Colombia
Past 7 days1,166 quakes | 795 quakes M3+ | 322 quakes M4+ | 46 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+
Past 30 days6,497 quakes | 4,823 quakes M3+ | 1,501 quakes M4+ | 156 quakes M5+ | 14 quakes M6+ | 3 quakes M7+
Past 90 days18,002 quakes | 13,589 quakes M3+ | 3,971 quakes M4+ | 411 quakes M5+ | 27 quakes M6+ | 4 quakes M7+
Past 365 days66,021 quakes | 48,625 quakes M3+ | 15,550 quakes M4+ | 1,707 quakes M5+ | 129 quakes M6+ | 10 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3.3 or higher (20 out of 887 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 15:51 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 12:51 pm (GMT -3)
4.8

165 km
41 km southwest of Andalgala, Catamarca, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 15:39 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 4:39 pm (GMT +1)
4.5

10 km
Oriental, 40 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco
I FELT IT - 19 reports
More
Oct 4, 2022 15:37 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 4:37 pm (GMT +1)
3.6

20 km
Alboran Sea, 29 km east of Al Hoceima, Morocco
I FELT IT - 8 reports
More
Oct 4, 2022 15:36 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 9:36 am (GMT -6)
4.3

7 km
North Pacific Ocean, 25 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 4, 2022 15:24 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 11:24 pm (GMT +8)
3.8

7 km
61 km east of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 15:13 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 10:13 am (GMT -5)
4.0

7 km
North Pacific Ocean, 23 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 14:58 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 12:58 pm (GMT -2)
4.5

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 14:57 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 10:57 pm (GMT +8)
3.8

25 km
Indian Ocean, 131 km south of Matalam, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 14:41 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 12:41 pm (GMT -2)
4.6

33 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 14:19 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 9:19 pm (GMT +7)
3.5

10 km
Indian Ocean, 162 km northeast of Flying Fish Cove, Christmas Island
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 14:18 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 8:18 am (GMT -6)
3.4

5 km
13 km south of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 14:02 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 12:02 am (GMT +10)
4.6

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 242 km northeast of Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 13:47 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 10:47 pm (GMT +9)
3.3

59 km
North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 13:47 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 9:47 am (GMT -4)
3.7

7 km
Provincia Maria Trinidad Sanchez, 29 km north of San Francisco de Macoris, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Oct 4, 2022 13:44 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 7:44 am (GMT -6)
3.8

5 km
11 km south of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 13:22 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 7:22 am (GMT -6)
3.6

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 52 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 13:08 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 10:08 am (GMT -3)
4.9

123 km
24 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 4, 2022 12:55 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 6:55 am (GMT -6)
3.5

6 km
13 km south of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 4, 2022 12:44 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 8:44 pm (GMT +8)
4.6

10 km
115 km south of Kandin, Garzê Zangzu Zizhizhou, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 12:39 GMT
Oct 4, 2022 5:39 pm (GMT +5)
3.3

10 km
TAJIKISTAN-XINJIANG BORDER REGION
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.1 x 1012 joules (1.4 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1209 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings